So Where Am I Now?

First off, apologies for the lack of postings of late, I have been experiencing a malaise in creative thought and my leisure time has been mostly filled with what can best be described as dicking about, with the insides of my Android phone first of all, which re-kindled my love of dicking about in general… I’m now writing this from a Linux distro installed and running from the memory on my old phone… neatly by-passing the problem of deleting Windows from Mrs. Wh00ps’ old laptop.

I do intend to rectify this in the new year.

So where am I? Well, like Vladimir, the Coalition government took the wind out of my sails for a little while, acting almost completely as I expected (i.e. no different from Labour, just in nicer suits) and, like he I went into thought-experiment mode. The directions we took are somewhat different: his away from libertarianism and into Rule Of Law Statism and mine further away from statism and further into fully-fledged anarchism.

It has become apparent to me, that government -like a cancer or a parasite- needs to be entirely eradicated, rather than attempted to be contained as a minarchist would argue. You can’t have a minimal cancer or some constitutionally limited fleas and the idea of doing the same with the state will inevitably fail. The job of governance attracts bureaucrats, and bureaucrats like to expand their power and influence, and once the heady days of revolution fade and We The People stop paying attention (which is, after all, what they are supposedly paying the bureaucrats so that they can do) the slow-slow ratchet of increased governmental power will begin all over again. It may take a couple of centuries to progress from John Hancock to Barack Obama but the route is well-travelled.

Whether it is achievable is another question entirely. Certainly doing away with the state by method of revolution is a non-starter: the chaos and uncertainty inevitably attracts people to whoever promises stability, and that invariably will hand the reins to another kind of statist rather than doing away with the reins altogether. We’d end up in more or less the same place we are now (or worse) with the added disadvantages of thousands dead and massive destruction of infrastructure and property. How to get there is a question that still remains unanswered.

But where is “there?” Perhaps before we decide on our vehicle we should decide on our destination. My preferred place would be somewhere with no state whatsoever. No welfare, no NHS, no regulations and no police. I understand that this will be where I part company from many of the people I read and respect and while I understand why minimal-state people may wish to retain so-called “essential” functions such as courts, police and defence I am now firmly of the belief that even these functions put us firmly back on the road to total control by bureaucracies. How I envision society functioning in such a scenario will be the subject of my next post.

4 responses to “So Where Am I Now?

  1. Glad to see you’re not one of the Disappeared after all. Not wishing to derail your thoughts on stateless societies but I have a wee problem with the idea, which is that it can actually be illiberal. Ever heard those tedious fucknuts whining about libertarians wanting to force freedom on people? They’d have a point if we did that, and that’s what a stateless society would mean. We can slag them off and call them sheeple but the bottom line is lots of people want the government to spoon feed one end of their alimentary canals and wipe the other, and I feel that the only issue libertarians should have with that is that those people expect and demand the same as us. The only thing we have any right to force on them is acquiescence to our demand for our own liberty, and if we ever manage that it will be enough for me. If they want to carry on being slaves while others enjoy liberty… well, it’d be sad but also their choice.

  2. Follow up to my last comment. Being fairly firmly in the minarchist camp I’ve often said that the kind of government I’d want would be kept in a glass case with a sign reading: ‘Break glass in case of emergency’. You’ve probably heard about the flooding going on in Queensland at the moment, and possibly you’ve heard that up ’til now the state Premier, Anna Bligh, and her government have not been held in very high regard. However, at the moment it looks as if they’ve been doing a reasonable job in helping with the disaster. I’m not saying that having a state (big or little S, take your pick) is the only way to deal with emergencies and natural disasters – and private citizens who’ve taken action themselves either as individuals or as groups prove it – or even that it’s the best option. All the same the government response to the Queensland floods is such that a stateless option is likely to be a hard sell up there for a while. Frankly it’d probably be a hard sell in New Orleans despite government there on more than one level fucking things up nearly every chance it got.

  3. No, I’m not Disappeared, merely resting. I came to the conclusion that what I had been doing, reporting my take on the current event of the day, was getting boring- not least to myself. I also don’t have the time or the inclination to go out looking for stories JuliaM-style. There’s plenty of people doing that already! So the interregnum has been while I decided what kind of blogger I want to be…

    I’m not going to touch too much on the points you have raised, although they are further food for thought, as I’m currently working on a series of posts that will explain (and enable me to organise in my own mind) just what I think on the subjects.

    I will say this: most people I come across only have a hazy idea of the implications of our system. If the state were to be abolished entirely tomorrow the only thing most people would notice is that they suddenly had twice as much money to spend. Those on welfare would have a hard time when they money stopped coming, but -and this is the important part- that money is going to stop coming sooner or later anyway. It is unsustainable.

    As for the natural disaster part: I’m not going to say much because I’m not sure what I think myself yet, but I did see on the news last night the people of Haiti one year on still living in tents waiting for the government to come and sort it all out for them. What this can tell us is probably far too long for a comment.

  4. Yes, true about the people of Haiti, and to be fair there are people here in Victoria who lost their homes to the Black Saturday bush fires two years ago who haven’t moved back in. For some it has nothing to do with the government – they simply weren’t fully insured and it takes time to build the money back up. For others government regulations intended to help are having the reverse effect and adding to their costs. Anyhow, looking forward to the full discourse.

Leave a Reply

