Fillums

At the risk of becoming a ‘lifestyle blog’ (not that there’s anything wrong with that!) and given that I’m here alone and wide awake with only a rabbit (the mammalian kind, not the sex toy) for company and nothing much to do, I’m going to talk about films. Sorry, it’s that or several posts about how cute the bunny is and I’m SURE you don’t want to read about that.

You may or may not remember me mentioning that we employ people with learning difficulties where I work (two of them, although only one is actually on the books) but what I didn’t mention is that both of them lend me films. Only me, read into that what you will but there you have it. One of them last week lent me Le Mans starring Steve McQueen. They really don’t make films like this anymore… I have absolutely no idea what the story was about but I was transfixed the whole time with the pace of the film and the beautiful way it was shot. You could tell that every single shot in the film (many of them one second or less) had been chosen very very carefully. It really reminded me of another classic film I watched for the second time recently: Sergio Leone’s tour de force Once Upon A Time In The West. Again here it was the pace of the film that transfixed me, and again I got to the end with only the vaguest idea of the story and yet had been unable to look away the entire time.
I can’t think of a recently-made film that I can compare them to.

There are probably dozens of films made more recently that have far more memorable storylines (most of them based on Philip K. Dick books!), better special effects and even better actors but the pace of films, the unrelenting way that each scene drags you kicking and screaming to the next seems to be a lost art.

Leave a Reply

