Where The Hell Shall I Put My ‘X’

Two days, a drunk-related face-mashup (more on that in the next post) and a hard reset to my phone later, and I’m rehashing from memory a post that was stored in the phone’s drafts folder, originally titled ‘Mother’s In A Quandry,’ in lieu of the much longer post that should have been finished days ago regarding Sean Gabb’s conversation (I’ve well missed the boat, everybody else has commented by now, I’m sure).

Mother isn’t really in a quandry. She is, I think, going to vote Labour. Not because she approves of their agenda, not because she thinks they’ve been doing a good job, and certainly not because of the TV debate (she was quite impressed by Cleggy, not the inceasingly wan-looking Gordo, and she’d never vote for Cameron- she ‘doesn’t like his face.’ I approve).

She plans to vote Labour because she likes our (Labour) MP and thinks he’s done a good job in the constituency. Which is ostensibly what our electoral system is all about. Note I didn’t mention his voting record, or his party’s leadership… but what the man himself has done in his constituency.

It’s me that’s in a quandry, really. On the one hand I tend to the idea that this is how the system is supposed to work, and by damn I should bloody well act like that is how it works, even though it isn’t, just out of sheer bloody-mindedness (wonder where I get that from, mum?) but on the other hand, I know damn well that isn’t how it works, and while Jonathan Shaw might be a good constituency MP he is still bound in Westminster by the Whips to vote for whatever crazy schemes his bosses dream up.

So what are we to do? The recent TV debates have put the ‘official’ sheen on what everybody has known for ages -that we vote for the party and it’s leader, in effect if not in priciple- but the system of electing a local representative and sending him off to Westminster to act for the Constituency’s interests is still in place. I actually quite like the idea, to be honest. If it worked properly, that is.

So where do I put my ‘X’? I can’t in good conscience vote for Mr. Shaw, no matter how hard he’s worked in the local area because a vote for him would be a vote for five more years of that lunatic he works for. There’s no Libertarian candidate so I’m either reduced to spoiling my ballot or going by method of elimination. According to Wikipedia there are seven PPC’s in my constituency. Four (Lib/Lab/Con and Green) I can eliminate straight away. I’m not voting English Democrat (I’m against an English Parliament- I want LESS government, not more) which leaves me with two candidates to choose from:

Colin McCarthy-Stewart (BNP); and
Steve Newton (UKIP)

Oh dear.

5 responses to “Where The Hell Shall I Put My ‘X’

  1. UKIP lost me when they went for the idea of female emancipation by means of enforcing a fucking dress code on them. There’s a certain amount to like about them but that kind of illiberal stupidity was a deal breaker for me. They were my plan B if there was no LPUK or libertarian (small L) candidate., and I didn’t have a plan C so boiled shallot it was.

  2. That was what put me off UKIP too Angry, although I’m sure Griff’s lot would like to ban a lot else besides.

    I really, REALLY object to having to choose between spoiling my paper or voting for one bunch of illiberal bansturbators or a slightly less illiberal bunch of bansturbators.

  3. Me too. If there was a ‘none of the above’ option it’d be an easy choice to make. And Griff’s lot, yes, absolutely. They also have some scary Old Labour type policies in the manifesto. Frankly if there was a gun at my head I’d vote for Gordon Brown before Griffin, though perhaps I’d later wish I’d just taken the bullet.

  4. “The recent TV debates have put the ‘official’ sheen on what everybody has known for ages -that we vote for the party and it’s leader, in effect if not in priciple- but the system of electing a local representative and sending him off to Westminster to act for the Constituency’s interests is still in place.”

    You’re right. But as you also point out, the local representative is easily controlled by the party leadership. The ‘separation of powers’ principle has been compromised to breaking point in our system; the executive (the PM and the Cabinet he or she appoints) can drag the legislature where it likes, and there’s no constitutional check on it – the House of Lords can only delay a measure for a while, and by convention the monarch won’t refuse Royal Assent to a Bill passed by an elected Parliament. It is just conceivable that the Queen might refuse Assent to a profoundly and overtly undemocratic Bill – such as one banning all political parties except the ruling one, or one which allowed a ruling Government to keep going without an election – but nothing less would do.

    Our form of ‘democracy’, which in theory guarantees Parliamentary supremacy, has come to mean executive supremacy, where great power is wielded by a Prime Minister who may or may not have faced the electorate as a candidate for that position.

    Increasingly I prefer the American system, where you have a vote for your local member of the legislature while the President, heading up the executive, is chosen in an entirely separate election. Nobody in the legislature can be in the executive, and thus powers are somewhat checked.

    There’s been much talk of doing politics differently and changes to the system, but since a real rebalancing of power would move it away from the Prime Minister and the excecutive, it’s hard to see it happening with the bunch we look likely to get.

Leave a Reply

