Silver Linings

One upshot of the whole smear campaign thing has been the coverage Guido has been getting in the MSM.
As I have recently discovered, the Man On The Clapham Omnibus has only a hazy idea of what bloggers are, and do. I know a lot of people in real life who are interested in what is going on in the world but who rarely explore beyond the nightly news or their paper. If these people get interested in the blogosphere through this (and as I write, they are discussing “attack blogs” on the BBC) then perhaps we can see a sea-change in political apathy in this country, as alternatives to the westminster consensus become known.
I can only hope.

Update: I can tell I wrote this first thing in the morning, when I am all doggy optimism and the higher functions of my brain have not woken up yet. Had I written this in the evening I would probably have taken a similar tone (albeit without such style) to this by The Landed Underclass.

Leave a Reply

