Jade Goody Passes

Jade Goody died this morning, and so far the news has been mercifully brief. I refrained from saying too much in my previous post as there was a chance, however minute, that she would read it.
The woman herself, I have no problem with. Whatever her merits and failings, she took herself from a poor start in life to a position of wealth without the standard approach of getting a council house and popping out babies in various hues. Alright, so she got a lucky break, but she made the most of it. I don’t even have a problem with her carrying on in the limelight during her final months, it must have been a very hard decision to make but at the end of the day there is now a lot more money in the pot for her children and that’s all there is to it.
David Davis at The Libertarian Alliance Blog says:

We are all individuals, and poor Jade Goody’s sad death is really, and ought to be, a private tragedy that involves her family and friends, of whom it is pleasing to note that she has some.

While I’m not sure I agree with this (after all Jade was a celebrity and news of celebrities sells newspapers and magazines) his other points are very valid. As I said, in a free market, it is to be expected that magazines are going to cover things that sell magazines. Although I was personally sickened at the circus that surrounded Jade in the last couple of weeks (especially this week with the brinksmanship between the glossies to get the “Final Interview”) I’ve taken it to be more a reflection on the nature of the people of this country that this sort of sickening show does sell magazines, and not a reflection on the magazines themselves.
This is not neccesarily the people’s fault, well, not entirely. To expand my previous quote:

The ephemeral mass-media-elevation of temporary human objects of interest, to the status of Semi-Divine Beings, is not something I think would play very well in a libertarian society, if and when one comes about. We are all individuals, and poor Jade Goody’s sad death is really, and ought to be, a private tragedy that involves her family and friends, of whom it is pleasing to note that she has some.

The fact that this elevation takes place is imho related to the purposeful degrading of education of – and thus the reach of comprehension and horizons of – people, by ZanuLieBorg (UK-subdivision of Gramsco-FabiaNazi stultification-programme number 2/b.)

Nothing there I can argue with. The thing that concerns me though, is what is it that allows people to catch onto these fads? What allows them to be degraqded and stultified? It hasn’t worked on me, I’m still sickened by the ghoulish nature of the coverage, but some people (it must be a lot to keep all the glossies in business) just lap it up. Is it the school system? I left school just before Labour came into power, but there are people older than me that are following this story with interest, a 50 year-old manager at my work said in the team briefing this morning “it’s a sad day today, Jade Goody has died.” In the team brief? This is nothing to do with business! Is it the media? Could be, I don’t really watch a lot of television so I guess it could be that, but doesn’t television just cover what gets them ratings? So it’s what the people want… but why do they want it?

Leave a Reply

